/images/screen-shot-2018-01-10-at-11-56-31.png

This is a follow up to Decisions Made Easy. We now have 59 days of net metering data and are able to get a more accurate picture of what late-in-the-year rooftop residential PV looks like at our latitude.

2017-11-12 Sun: TOU $-0.48 vs flat-rate $-0.25 2017-11-13 Mon: TOU $-0.71 vs flat-rate $-0.31 2017-11-14 Tue: TOU $-0.31 vs flat-rate $ 0.00 2017-11-15 Wed: TOU $-0.37 vs flat-rate $ 0.11 2017-11-16 Thu: TOU $-0.19 vs flat-rate $ 0.12 2017-11-17 Fri: TOU $ 0.29 vs flat-rate $ 0.60 2017-11-18 Sat: TOU $ 0.42 vs flat-rate $ 0.78 2017-11-19 Sun: TOU $ 2.09 vs flat-rate $ 2.58 2017-11-20 Mon: TOU $-0.06 vs flat-rate $ 0.39 2017-11-21 Tue: TOU $ 1.18 vs flat-rate $ 1.35 2017-11-22 Wed: TOU $-0.22 vs flat-rate $ 0.06 Holiday: Thanksgiving 2017-11-23 Thu: TOU $ 0.91 vs flat-rate $ 1.11 2017-11-24 Fri: TOU $ 0.95 vs flat-rate $ 1.05 2017-11-25 Sat: TOU $ 0.76 vs flat-rate $ 1.07 2017-11-26 Sun: TOU $ 1.90 vs flat-rate $ 2.18 2017-11-27 Mon: TOU $ 0.58 vs flat-rate $ 0.78 2017-11-28 Tue: TOU $ 0.56 vs flat-rate $ 0.93 2017-11-29 Wed: TOU $ 0.05 vs flat-rate $ 0.47 2017-11-30 Thu: TOU $ 0.97 vs flat-rate $ 1.34 2017-12-01 Fri: TOU $ 2.26 vs flat-rate $ 2.55 2017-12-02 Sat: TOU $ 1.04 vs flat-rate $ 1.36 2017-12-03 Sun: TOU $ 2.60 vs flat-rate $ 2.86 2017-12-04 Mon: TOU $ 0.46 vs flat-rate $ 0.76 2017-12-05 Tue: TOU $ 0.69 vs flat-rate $ 1.02 2017-12-06 Wed: TOU $ 0.96 vs flat-rate $ 1.20 2017-12-07 Thu: TOU $ 2.21 vs flat-rate $ 2.26 2017-12-08 Fri: TOU $ 1.50 vs flat-rate $ 1.81 2017-12-09 Sat: TOU $ 0.80 vs flat-rate $ 1.16 2017-12-10 Sun: TOU $ 1.93 vs flat-rate $ 2.21 2017-12-11 Mon: TOU $ 1.04 vs flat-rate $ 1.49 2017-12-12 Tue: TOU $ 0.22 vs flat-rate $ 0.53 2017-12-13 Wed: TOU $ 1.03 vs flat-rate $ 1.52 2017-12-14 Thu: TOU $ 1.26 vs flat-rate $ 1.57 2017-12-15 Fri: TOU $-0.15 vs flat-rate $ 0.19 2017-12-16 Sat: TOU $ 1.81 vs flat-rate $ 2.11 2017-12-17 Sun: TOU $ 1.48 vs flat-rate $ 1.77 2017-12-18 Mon: TOU $ 1.62 vs flat-rate $ 1.99 2017-12-19 Tue: TOU $ 0.99 vs flat-rate $ 1.33 2017-12-20 Wed: TOU $ 0.95 vs flat-rate $ 1.34 2017-12-21 Thu: TOU $ 3.24 vs flat-rate $ 3.38 2017-12-22 Fri: TOU $ 3.22 vs flat-rate $ 3.53 2017-12-23 Sat: TOU $ 1.17 vs flat-rate $ 1.47 2017-12-24 Sun: TOU $ 3.15 vs flat-rate $ 3.46 Holiday: Christmas Day 2017-12-25 Mon: TOU $ 3.38 vs flat-rate $ 3.66 2017-12-26 Tue: TOU $ 3.87 vs flat-rate $ 3.92 2017-12-27 Wed: TOU $ 1.50 vs flat-rate $ 2.05 2017-12-28 Thu: TOU $ 1.02 vs flat-rate $ 1.34 2017-12-29 Fri: TOU $ 3.23 vs flat-rate $ 3.85 2017-12-30 Sat: TOU $ 0.82 vs flat-rate $ 1.25 2017-12-31 Sun: TOU $ 2.48 vs flat-rate $ 2.73 Holiday: New Year’s Day 2018-01-01 Mon: TOU $ 2.30 vs flat-rate $ 2.80 2018-01-02 Tue: TOU $ 1.20 vs flat-rate $ 1.83 2018-01-03 Wed: TOU $ 1.42 vs flat-rate $ 1.93 2018-01-04 Thu: TOU $ 0.56 vs flat-rate $ 1.00 2018-01-05 Fri: TOU $ 2.44 vs flat-rate $ 3.17 2018-01-06 Sat: TOU $ 1.12 vs flat-rate $ 1.36 2018-01-07 Sun: TOU $ 1.28 vs flat-rate $ 1.81 2018-01-08 Mon: TOU $ 2.04 vs flat-rate $ 2.55 2018-01-09 Tue: TOU $ 1.43 vs flat-rate $ 2.00 =====TOU kWh====== On-Peak: -24 Shoulder: -48 Off-Peak: 1019 Total: 948 =======wins======= TOU 59 (100.0%) flat 0 ( 0.0%) ====TOU costs===== On-Peak: $ -3.31 Shoulder: $ -5.03 Off-Peak: $ 82.21 ======costs======= TOU sum: $ 73.88 flat sum: $ 94.49

It’s not quite the ridiculous savings ratio indicated by the first few days of usage, but it’s still a savings, and accomplished by simply switching rates. I expect it to increase as the days do in sunlight.

I compared our first utility bill to the readings from the same (or very similar) interval and they matched pretty well for a $100 home energy meter:

Screen Shot 2018-01-10 at 11.47.09.png

1
2
3
4
=====TOU kWh======
On-Peak:         3
Shoulder:       60
Off-Peak:      272